Our Associates are the backbone of who we are. The AASCU-Penson Center for Professional Development seeks out and finds only the most qualified individuals to serve you and your organizational needs.

Dr. Kay Schallenkamp Bio
Dr. Kay Schallenkamp Associate
Former President, Black Hills State University

1918 Country Oaks Lane • Spearfish, SD 57783 • (605) 645-1124 (M)


Specialties: Fund raising, marketing and public relations, strategic planning, accreditation, president/provost assessment, team building and athletics

About Dr. Kay Schallenkamp
Dr. Kay Schallenkamp retired in 2014 as Black Hills State University (BHSU). She previously served as president at Emporia State University in Kansas and held administrative positions at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and Chadron State College in Nebraska.

During Dr. Schallenkamp’s successful tenure at BHSU, the university experienced increased enrollment and improved graduation rates, added several new undergraduate and graduate degree programs, and raised additional grant funding and private contributions for scholarships. She successfully completed the university’s first major gifts campaign and increased annual fund raising from $500K per year to moe than $8 million. Committed to environmental issues, Dr. Schallenkamp was the first president of a South Dakota university to join the American College and University President’s Climate Commitment. The university was South Dakota’s first to offer a master’s degree in sustainability.

Dr. Schallenkamp has led accreditation teams in Japan and England and was a member of a consulting team to the Minister of Education of the United Arab Emirates. She also has served on numerous committees and task forces for professional organizations at the national and state level.

Service Highlights:

  • Member, Board of the Council, Accreditation of Educator Preparation
  • Member, Steering Committee, American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment
  • Member, Advisory Board for First Interstate Bank in Spearfish South Dakota
  • Past chair, Presidents Council for the NCAA Division II
  • Past chair, American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education Board of Directors
  • Past chair, Board of Directors for The National Teachers Hall of Fame
  • Past member, American Association of State Colleges and Universities Board
  • Past member, The Renaissance Group Board
  • Past member, North Central Association’s Board of Directors
  • Legislative Councilor, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
  • Past member, Board of Directors for Economic Development
  • Past board member, Chamber of Commerce
  • Past board member, Boys Scouts
  • Past board member, United Way
  • Past board member, Junior Achievement
  • Past board member, Habitat for Humanity
  • Member, Rotary International


  • Honorary Doctorate in Public Service, South Dakota Board of Regents
  • Honorary Doctorate, Baker University
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Northern State University
  • Distinguished Woman  Award, Girl Scouts    
  • Distinguished Citizen Award, Boy Scouts


  • Ph.D., University of Colorado
  • M.A., University of South Dakota
  • B.S., Northern State University